Hong Kong Celebrations

Future Shapers Awards Ceremony - Sustainable Textiles Conference, Hong Kong

Organic cotton pioneers from all over the world were celebrated in a floating awards ceremony whilst cruising Hong Kong harbour on Thursday night, October 4th.  Click here to view the slideshow of the award presentation. 

Above from left to right: Textile Exchange's: Evonne Tan (graphic designer of Future Shaper series), Simon Cooper (chair TE Europe, compering the event), and Liesl Truscott (Director, Farm Engagement, Future Shaper series co-ordinator).

Receiving awards: Eraina Duffy, Sr. Materials Researcher, Nike; Rita Luppino, Sustainability and Social Media Associate, Anvil; Shelly Gottschamer, Lifestyle Sourcing Manager, Patagonia; Cecilia Brannsten, Product Sustainability Coordinator, H&M; Rolf Heimann, Head of Innovation & Ecology, hessnature; Michael Reidick, Head of Global Sourcing Operations, C&A; Vijayalakshmi Nachiar, Co-founder, Apache Cotton; Ralf Hellmann, CEO, Dibella.

Unfortunately, founder Abi Petit from Gossypium, nor co-founders François Ghislain Morillion and Sébastien Kopp from Veja could be with us in Hong Kong to collect their award in person.

About The Awards

Each award contains two types of organic cotton: 

(1) The wild (naturally colored) organic cotton is from the Peruvian rainforest, and provided by Bergman Rivera. In the rainforest cotton is grown traditionally, and used by native Peruvians for handicrafts. Wild cotton contributes to the world’s gene pool of native cotton.

(2) The white organic cotton boll is Egedeniz’s Aegean long staple cotton from Izmir. Aegean cotton is highly valued for its quality, length and strength of fiber. Egedeniz is a part of the Kadioglu Group of Companies.


Future Shapers Book Available Now!

A commemorative book, compiling all 10 Future Shapers, has now been published and launched at our 2012 Annual Conference in Hong Kong. Available electronically here now or contact Donna Worley for a hard copy.